Reading

Image

 

Something that bothers me more than anything else in the world is when someone tells me they don’t read. I am not entirely sure why this is such a negative trait to me, but it truly is. Reading is one of the keenest pleasures any human being can experience. You are not only experiencing whole other worlds, but you are experiencing other people too. No other outlet allows you to travel back to 1847 and live the life of a governess in Jane Eyre. There is no other outlet that allows you to go to a whole other world in Middle Earth and have adventures with Hobbits. Reading takes you places you could never imagine. 

The power books have to educate people is astounding. Not just fiction, too. You can learn DIY projects, to cook, about any historical event, and so much more. It is literally amazing how much you can learn from books, and there is a never-ending supply of books. You cannot run out of books, and they keep coming out. Reading is an endless supply of knowledge. 

Something is so off-putting when people say “I don’t read.” I will not be able to date anyone who doesn’t read. I want to be able to talk about books and things I love with a boyfriend or a husband. Books are a huge part of my life, I mean I am an English major. So if someone can’t share that passion I have for literature, I don’t know how I can relate to someone on a deeper level. 

There is so much to say on this subject, but I just think that it is an important thing to be known. Books change lives. They help people get through so many things. For myself, they helped me get over my shyness. They help with a multitude of other issues for billions of people.

So…read more, and read often. 

Jamie

X

Leave a Reply

